Council of the Federation Announces Literacy Award Winners for 2010

WINNIPEG, August 4, 2010 – Canada’s Premiers today announced the recipients of the sixth annual Council of the Federation Literacy Award. Presented in each province and territory, the award celebrates outstanding achievement, innovative practice and excellence in literacy.

The recipients of the 2010 Council of the Federation Literacy Award are:

Margaret Chegwin – Alberta
Pete Grinberg – British Columbia
Angela Keno – Manitoba
Eleanor Kingston – New Brunswick
Frenzada Mallet – New Brunswick
Robin Grant – Newfoundland and Labrador
Noreen Morin – Northwest Territories
Marcia Jeffers – Nova Scotia
Elisapee Flaherty – Nunavut
Leah Morris – Ontario
Trout River Industries Inc. – Prince Edward Island
Danielle Beaudry – Québec
Kim Newlove – Saskatchewan
Eleanor Millard – Yukon

“On behalf of all Premiers, I extend congratulations to the 2010 recipients of the Council of the Federation Literacy Award,” said Greg Selinger, Premier of Manitoba and incoming Chair of the Council of the Federation. “Recognizing that literacy skills are the essential building blocks for the development of a vibrant society and economy, this year’s recipients have all shown an exceptional commitment to literacy.”

The award recognizes outstanding contributions made by Canadians across the entire spectrum of the field of literacy, including family, Aboriginal, health, workplace and community literacy. Each year the award is presented to educators, volunteers, learners, community organizations, and businesses in each province and territory.

Each recipient receives a certificate, signed by the Premier of their province or territory, as well as a Council of the Federation Literacy Award medallion.

Premiers created the award in 2004 to recognize the importance of literacy as a major factor in Canadians' ability to participate as full and active citizens in all areas of society.