Council of the Federation Announces Literacy Award Winners for 2012

July 24, 2012 – Canada’s Premiers today announced the recipients of the eighth annual Council of the Federation Literacy Award. The award recognizes outstanding achievement, innovative practice and excellence in literacy. It is presented annually in each province and territory to educators, volunteers, learners, community organizations, non-governmental organizations and businesses.

The recipients of the 2012 Council of the Federation Literacy Award are:

Lisa O’Blenis – Alberta
Literacy Alliance of the Shuswap Society (LASS) – British Columbia
Tina Bergen – Manitoba
Maria (Candy) Mateo – New Brunswick
Elizabeth Cormier – New Brunswick
Karra Dillon – Northwest Territories
Kimberlly (Kim) Nielsen – Nova Scotia
Annie Neglak – Nunavut
Community Literacy of Ontario – Ontario
Terry Affleck – Prince Edward Island
Romain Audet – Québec
Gordon Li – Saskatchewan
Doris Roberts – Yukon

“On behalf of all Premiers, I congratulate the 2012 recipients of the Council of the Federation Literacy Award,” said Darrell Dexter, Premier of Nova Scotia and Chair of the Council of the Federation. “The determination of literacy learners and the devotion of literacy advocates are an inspiration to all Canadians. The recipients of this award are all truly deserving of this recognition.”

The award recognizes the valuable contributions made by Canadians across the entire spectrum of the field of literacy, including family, Aboriginal, health, workplace and community literacy. Premiers created the award in 2004 to recognize the importance of literacy as a major factor in Canadians' ability to participate as full and active citizens in all areas of society.

Each recipient receives a certificate, signed by the Premier of their province or territory, as well as a Council of the Federation Literacy Award medallion.

- MORE -