About Canada’s Premiers

Canada’s 13 provincial and territorial Premiers are members of the Council of the Federation.

The Council’s objectives are to:

  • Promote interprovincial-territorial cooperation and closer ties between Premiers, to ultimately strengthen Canada;
  • Foster meaningful relations between governments based on respect for the Constitution and recognition of the diversity within the federation;
  • Show leadership on issues important to all Canadians.

Established in 2003, the Council enables Premiers to work collaboratively to strengthen the Canadian federation by fostering a constructive relationship among the provinces and territories, and with the federal government.

Premiers are supported by a small Secretariat located in Ottawa.